Gotta dance. Maybe.

March 12, 2009 at 10:02 am 2 comments

I got a great Nordic Track T7 Si treadmill for Christmas.  I really like this model – it’s cool, it goes up and down, and it has awesome bells and whistles.  It’s been nice to have a solid piece of exercise equipment again.

nordic-track-t7-si-treadmill1

I was using it the other day and was going at a brisk-but-manageable pace, when it spontaneously sped up to the maximum speed.  Yikes.  I nearly fell of the damned thing.  Call me crazy, but I don’t want to break my neck to be fit.  I am still within time to exchange it, so I called up Sears and they are going to bring me a new one.  (Thank you, Sears, for making this exchange easy.  I like it when a company makes my life easier.)

In the meantime, I won’t be using my possessed treadmill, so I thought I’d try something decidedly low tech.  Like taking an exercise class.  A friend of mine SWEARS by a new fad called Cardio Barre.

cardiobarre3

Essentially, it is a ballet class that has all of the beneficial barre warm ups, and none of the embarrassing (for me) dance routines that usually follow.  This might be just what I need.  Though I love to watch dancing, and my closest friends are some of the most talented dancers I know…I was not born with the gift.  In my mind I’m glorious and graceful, but in reality?  Um, NO.  I’ve taken close to 8 years of dance and have never broken out of the beginner class.

Sigh.

But there are lots of benefits to dance, and I’m willing to give it another shot.  Especially if no one is going to make me pas-de-bourrée across the floor.  Maybe now I’ll find my inner Baryshnikov.

mikhail_baryshnikov1

Or maybe not.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Relaaaax. Don’t do it. When you wanna go to it.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. click here  |  June 6, 2012 at 10:33 am

    Just to let you know your web page appears a little bit unusual on Safari on my laptop with Linux .

    Reply
    • 2. kellygreenstars  |  June 7, 2012 at 2:02 am

      Thanks for the heads up!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
     
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


