Relaaaax. Don’t do it. When you wanna go to it.

March 11, 2009 at 12:28 am Leave a comment

Now that I am no longer at my job, I was worried that I would go stir-crazy and wouldn’t be able to fill my days.  I have to say…this hasn’t been the case.  I feel a little guilty that I am actually enjoying having some time off.  I am trying to take the opportunity to learn how to relax.  Which is something in the past that I haven’t done well.

I am a “Type A” go-go-go kind of person.  It makes me ridiculously happy to cross things off my To Do list.  When you look up “overachiever” in the dictionary, my mug will be staring back at you.  All these traits are seen as a good thing in our over-worked, hyper-productive American society.  But in the grand scheme of things, it’s not such a healthy paradigm.  It’s really hard for me to park myself on the couch and watch a whole movie.  Or spend an entire afternoon with a book and throw blanket.  I romanticize about doing these things but in reality?  Not so much.

So in my quest to better myself during this “in-between” time, I’m going to try and worry a little bit less, and relax a little bit more.

At the very least, it should help with some stress relief.

Just looking at this photo makes me feel relaxed!

Mazatlan, 2008

This picture reminds me of one of my most relaxing moments on a vacation I went on last year.  I just look at this picture and my blood pressure lowers 10 points!  Now, if only I were sitting in that chair sipping a Mai Tai…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Gotta dance. Maybe.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts